top of page

Show Love Abundantly in Various Forms!

“Find the love you seek, by first finding the love within yourself.

 —Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

As we celebrate Valentine’s Day, our minds often turn to the idea of love, convinced that it's the time to celebrate romantic relationships.

However, it's also an opportunity to reflect on the many dimensions of love that impact us during our daily lives, including the most important one of all is self-love. Explore different forms of love and languages!

Exploring Different Types of Love

Love is a multifaceted emotion that extends far beyond romantic partnerships. Psychologist Robert Sternberg proposed a triangular theory of love, which suggests that love has three components: intimacy, passion, and commitment.


These 3 components can combine in different ways to create 4 types of love, including:


  1. Self-Love: This is the foundation of all other forms of love. It’s about accepting ourselves fully, flaws and all, and treating ourselves with the same kindness and compassion that we would offer to a dear friend.


  1. Romantic Love: This type of love is often celebrated on Valentine’s Day. It involves intimacy and passion and is typically characterized by a deep emotional connection and physical attraction.


  1. Familial Love: Our love with our family is often unconditional and enduring. It’s a bond built on a shared history and experiences, providing a sense of belonging and security.


  1. Friendship Love: Our friends play a crucial role in our lives, offering support, laughter, and companionship. Friendship love is characterized by trust, loyalty, and mutual respect.


5 Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace

The Five Languages of Appreciation in the Workplace is a concept developed by

Dr. Gary Chapman. Understanding and utilizing these languages can help managers and colleagues effectively express appreciation and build positive relationships in the workplace.


1.Words of Affirmation: This includes verbal praise, written notes, or any form of communication that expresses appreciation through words.


2.Acts of Service: This involves actions taken to help or support colleagues or employees, such as assisting with tasks, offering to help with projects, or providing practical support.


3.Quality Time: This refers to giving someone your undivided attention, spending time with them, and engaging in meaningful interactions, whether it's through one-on-one conversations, team meetings, or social activities.


4.Tangible Gifts: This includes giving physical gifts or tokens of appreciation, such as gift cards, plaques, or other items that hold significance to the recipient.


5.Physical Touch: While less common in the workplace due to professional boundaries, physical touch can still be a form of appreciation, such as a handshake, high-five, or appropriate pat on the back.


This Valentine’s Day, let’s celebrate love in all its forms. From the love, we show ourselves to the love we share with others. Whether you’re spending the day with a romantic partner, friends, family, colleagues take the time to express gratitude for the relationships that enrich your life. Additionally, practicing self-love is essential for our well-being.


If you are unsure where to start, create some time to reflect. By nurturing our relationship with ourselves, we become better equipped to cultivate meaningful connections with others. So, as you celebrate love this year, remember to embrace love in all its forms. Don’t forget to show yourself some love. It all starts with you.


Join us for a mindfulness session or wellness class here 

Schedule your workplace wellness demo here 

Follow us on IG LinkedIn FB Twitter 

21 views0 comments


7 Days of Utopia
bottom of page